Get Into the Game! An Interview with Sportscaster Chris Schneider

11 11 2009

We always hear them comment on our favorite sports. But how do they get to that work and how do they live up being a Christian in their profession. These and more as we interview Chris Schneider.You can reach him to his website: http://www.radioactivespeaking.com.

ROCK Ministry: Hi Chris, so tell me how did you end up in this work? Does it take special talent to do what you do?

Chris Schneider : I’ve known since I was 11 years old that I wanted to be in broadcasting, I guess it was an early sign from God.  I applied for my first job at a radio station when I was 12, I was turned down because I was too young, but when I turned 16 and was able to drive, I drove down to another station, put in an application, and then bugged the Program Director of the station until he finally gave me a job on the air.  It does take some special talents, you have to be able to speak well, be enjoyable to listen to, and it really helps to be able to write well too.

ROCK Ministry: Tell us briefly how you became a Christian? How does being a sportscaster or an athlete who profess he or she is a Christian fit in this line of work?

Chris Schneider: I have been blessed to be going to church all my life.  My relationship with Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior has grown out of that.  I now base my life on serving our great and wonderful God.  Being a Christian in this line of work is pretty much the same as in any other line of work, you try to live a life worthy of positive notice from those around you and hopefully they will want to know more about what it is that we have that they don’t.  The good part about it is that sometimes it allows me to be able to speak to groups of people about the Lord.  As for Christian athletes, it is a great venue for people to share their faith.

ROCK Ministry: How do you maintain professionalism?

Chris Schneider : Not sure what you mean by maintaining professionalism.  I think it’s pretty much the same as in any other business, you just have to try and live your convictions, and know that in all things we do, we do them unto the Lord, whether that be talking on the air, or doing something off the air that nobody notices.

RM: How do you share Jesus in your work?

Chris: I share it of course in my personal relationships, but my line of work also allows me to speaking to groups, it helps having worked at some of the places that I have, and having talking to some big name players and coaches with stories that people want to hear.  It allows me to share my faith, and exhort my brothers and sisters in Christ.

RM: There are things a sportscaster should take care. I think, one will be your voice. How do you maintain it? Another is the things you will say and remember. How do you grasp words and remember names, stats etc.?

Chris: It is important in this business to take care of your voice.  That usually doesn’t mean doing anything too different that other folks, but it does mean you shouldn’t go out shouting at a sporting event, or do anything that could damage your vocal cords.  It is vital to actually be a sports fan if you’re going to be in this business, otherwise there is no way you could accumulate and remember the information you need to do this job well.  You can’t fake it.  I grew up a huge sports fan, watching and listening to all different kings of things, and over the years I have built up a pretty nice knowledge of things that helps in the job.  Grasping for words can be tough sometimes, its funny how that happens.  The key when you’re talking on the air is if you can’t think of a certain word or person, to try and talk around it so that people understand what you’re saying, and maybe even who you’re talking about.

RM: A sportscaster has these cool words that describe, say a great move, or scoring in sports. Where do you get those stuff and what’s your favorite expression?

Chris: We do come up with some good descriptions sometimes, and again, that all comes from loving sports and being around it our entire lives. I don’t know that I have a favorite expression, sometimes I get tired of broadcasters who think they have to come up with a cute saying they have to repeat everytime something happens.  I think its better just to be yourself and let the games play out.

RM: How do you spend your quite time for the Lord?

Chris: I like to learn about the Lord as much as possible so I listen to Bible teachers and try to take in what they’re saying.  I also try to stay in the Word as much as I can and hear what the Holy Spirit is saying to me through the scriptures and in the Spirit.  In my prayer time I try to just communicate with God, I think that’s what He really wants.  I don’t think he wants any wrote religious talk, or endless babble, but real conversation.  So I try to do this.

RM: Can you give us a game plan that a student should consider for he or she to succeed not just in sports but in real life?

Chris: Not too many people can make a living playing sports, the percentages are very low.  So I would recommend getting a well rounded education (hopefully a Christian education) and going from there.  Of course our life path should begin and end with where the Lord is telling us to go.  God gives every one of us talents, skills and abilities, and then calls us to use them for His honor and glory in some way.  Most of the time that just means doing a regular job, but that is very important.  We are called to be the salt of the earth in every way, no matter what form that takes.  As far as I’m concerned, as long as we’re doing what God has called us to do, nobody is more important than the other.  We are all equally loved and cherished n God’s eyes if we’re answering His call.

RM: If anyone wants to follow your foot steps what should they do?

Chris: Their are several different ways to get into broadcasting.  The best way is to go to school and learn about it while getting a well rounded education in other areas in case you decide it’s not what you thought, or if our God is calling you to do something else.  If school isn’t an option, the next best thing is to try to get a job at a radio staiton in a smaller town, and try to work your way up the ladder.  Its better to start in a small town because they allow you to do more things, and make more mistakes without getting fired.

RM: I know you have a ministry and I’ve seen it on YouTube. So tell us more about it and how do we get in touch with you?

Chris: I believe the Lord has called us each into ministry, it just takes different forms with everyone.  Since the Lord has blessed me with the ability to speak, that’s exactly what I do.  I pray that He will touch other people when I talk on the air.  I also am a public speaker, where I speaking to audiences in person, that ministry alows me to talk to people face to face.  And then the “God A Minute” ministry that I do on Youtube is just an extension of all that.  It is an honor and a blessing to be able to express the Word in various ways.  We are so blessed!

RM: Chris, thank you so much for giving us a chance to interview you and may this interview glorify God and many people who read this will open their hearts for God and his gospel. God bless you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

