What Every Catholic Should Ask

29 07 2009

What if I die today will I be in heaven?

Why is it that my church is the “the one true church” yet I cannot assure of heaven?

If the pope cannot assure spending eternity in heaven, how about me, an ordinary Catholic?

Why is it hard for me to ask questions regarding my faith? Do I consider it evil to ask? Am I too embarrassed? Or too confident to my church I haven’t bothered to check it out?

Have I read the official catechisms of my church? Have I read Bible references? Are the verses used to justify the teachings biblically sound or out of context?

What is the difference between veneration and worship? Can I give examples of both to give clear distinction from the two words? Does lighting candles’, kissing images, and praying to saints, kneeling to go to the altar while reciting the rosary a form of worship or veneration? Can all devotion mention be given to God and call it worship then the same devotions will be given to saints and the Virgin Mary be called veneration?
When I read the Bible specially the New Testament why cant I read about the popery, priest, monks, nuns, indulgences, purgatory, scapular, relics, rosary, prayers for the dead, good works, infant baptism, confession, confirmation, last rites, holy water, etc?
Does having been able to trace the roots of the church to the New Testament church make my religion true even if it doesn’t really resembles it? Are their any more ways to know if my church is true?

Are early church fathers (Augustine, Justin Martyr, Jerome, Origen, etc) reliable? The church to confirm the doctrines has used them but some of them contradict each other and contradicts some teachings.

Have I kept the 10 Commandments if following them will assure me of heaven? How about the other more than 500 Mosaic laws that I need to fulfill? And how about the Church’s approximately 700 dogma and teachings? Have I followed them flawlessly if I do not want to go to hell?

If committing sin to me is a mistake and makes me imperfect how about those things that I should have done but didn’t (sin of omission)?

Is Jesus my Savior or is He just my Helper to go to heaven?

Why is the doctrine of papal infallibility only came to be a teaching today? Does that mean from the past centuries of not having this doctrine the Catholic Church is in error and not guided by the Holy Spirit or is it just a man made teaching?

What does the Bible meant of adding things to the Bible and receiving a curse from it? (Rev. 22:18).

If I have to take all of this Catholic teaching by faith yet its contrary to the Bible what does my faith be?

Could I pick and choose what I want to believe in the teaching of the Catholic Church? What about those laws of the Church that condemns me if I neglect some of their teachings?

For further information:

Answers To My Catholic Friends http://www.chick.com/reading/books/218/218cont.asp

Understanding Roman Catholicism

http://www.chick.com/reading/books/160/160cont.asp

What Every Catholic Should Know

http://www.whateverycatholicshouldknow.com/

1994 Catechism of the Roman Catholic Church

http://www.vatican.va/archive/ENG0015/_INDEX.HTM

Council of Trent
http://history.hanover.edu/early/trent.htm

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

