Through It All

11 07 2009

Cynthia Hampton (CH) talks with ROCK Ministry (RM) about her young life, an unhappy family, being married,a battered wife, having a divorce, being all alone and being involved in a cult.

ROCK Ministry:Hi Cynthia, a woman who gone to this and still be strong is something commendable. Can you give us a background of your life then? What was life as a Jehovah’s Witness? How do you act in school or how do you interact. Do you feel different with your classmate and vise versa? 
 
Cynthia: My family life was not very happy.  My father was an alcoholic, my mother was very unhappy with him.  So I think she was really ripe for this cult.  She thought these were such nice people and that they really knew the Bible.  She was tired of my father and his friends who drank too much.
 
Life after we started going to the KH (Kingdom Hall, the place were Jehovah’s Witnesses worship) was very busy.  Meetings on Tuesday nights, Thursday nights and Sunday morning. I had a hard time studying and getting homework done, but I didn’t care, because I thought Armageddon was coming.  When our family joined the JW’s (Jehovah’s Witnesses), I started to only interact with other JW kids only.  I quit association with my old friends because I was told they were bad association.

ROCK Ministry: I’ve read your testimony online and Wow what can I say. You said that marrying in that age was a worst mistake in your life, Why is that? What do you expect that marriage be? What’s running into you mind when you have to hurry to marry? What’s your parents response on this?
 
Cynthia: It was the worst mistake of my life because I was married to the wrong person.  He was a very selfish and immature man, who thought as a JW, that he should boss me around.  I was only 18 years old, and too young and naive to realize what a foolish decision it was to marry so young.  I was in a hurry to get married because I thought Armageddon was coming; I thought that if I weren’t married when Armageddon came, that as a young single girl in the “new system”, that I would not be allowed to marry.  We were told that there might not be marriage in the “new system”.

RM: How can a man who loves his wife beat her? What are the physical and emotional abuse you had with him? Have it entered your mind that this is just a phase and it will just pass away? When did you realize enough is enough and you want out?
 
CH: A man who beats his wife cannot love her.  He only likes to abuse his strength and power over her.  I had thought the first couple times when he hit me, that it wouldn’t happen again.  But it kept happening, he was a horrible person, and I lived my life in fear until I was able to leave.  I realized that enough was enough when my son Edward was born.  I couldn’t live like that and put my child at risk.

RM: Lets talk about the divorce. Can you fill us in with that? When you had that divorce did it solved you problem or worsen it? Do you felt fear for you and your son back then, on how the future might be for you two? 
 
CH: First we were just legally separated, and I lived with my parents, so I had no fear.  I divorced a couple years later, and it was the best decision I ever made.  He pretty much disappeared from my life after that.  I had just a few instances of interaction with him where he threatened to make trouble in my life, but for the most part, he vanished from my life and my son’s life.

RM: Tell me about that false prophesy by the Watchtower Society or the Jehovah’s Witnesses that lead you and the others into marrying young? What do you feel back then when they said Armageddon is just around the corner? Are you excited or fearful? According to JW’s what will happen in Armageddon?
 
CH: Well we all thought that Armageddon was coming in 1975.  WE all believed that, because the WT (Watchtower or the Watchtower Bible and Tracts Society, the organization of the Jehovah’s Witnesses) led us to believe that.  We were being taught that even if we as kids/teens made through Armageddon, that there might not be marriage after Armageddon.  We all believed that Armageddon was close, that 6,000 years of human history was done, and that the “7th day” would be ushered in, as the Millenniel reign of Jesus Christ.  I think we were pretty excited about the prospect of being able to live through the new system.  The “new system” was supposed to be 1000 years of Christ as King and we would live on a paradise Earth.

RM: I’ve read somewhere that the JW’s said it just an exaggerations of some “enthusiastic” members on this 1975 prophesy? Is that true?
 
CH: Basically what happened was when the regular rank and file JW’s were disappointed that Armageddon didn’t come, the governing body tried to say, “we never said that Armageddon was coming in 1975”.  They tried to make it sound like we had gotten too excited.  Well what’s not to be excited about?  They kept saying we were in the last few months before Armageddon!

RM: People might say”Well people makes mistakes. Even those in religion are human and prone to error.” What can you say about that in light of the false prophesy in 1975?

CH: I just take them to Deuteronomy 18:20-22.  Time is the worst enemy of the false prophet!

RM: But aren’t the JW’s good and honest religious folks. I met people who are JW’s that are nice. Are you just upset with them because of what happen to you that’s why you can say this and that to them? What’s wrong with this organization? 
 
CH: Of course, JW’s are nice people.  I have lots of JW relatives and they ARE nice people.  I love my mother very much, but she is also very deceived by this clever organization.  I have no problem with the individual people.  I love people who are Jehovah’s Witnesses and I pray for them because they are involved and following an organization that has lied to them, and they are not allowed to investigate because the WT tells them it is a sin to doubt.  What’s wrong with this organization?  It has set itself up in the place of Christ, saying we need to follow this organization.  They have created an idol of this “faithful and discreet slave” (Matt 24:45) and that is who they follow instead of Jesus Christ!  They have the wrong Jesus too.  They teach that Jesus is really an archangel named Michael.  So they have a different Jesus and a different gospel.  Didn’t the apostle Paul warn us about that? (Galatians 1:6-9)

RM: One thing that is so familiar with JW’s is that they have this laws and regulations. Like they cant vote, participate in the military then they cant celebrate birthdays etc. and most specially the most controversial is the blood transfusion thing. People’s response to this is being obedient to God and showing they love Him by keeping their commandments. So tell me whats the thin line between obeying and pleasing God to legalism? 
 
CH: These control mechanisms are all designed to keep the rank and file Jehovah’s Witnesses under their control.  Instead of wanting to keep “separate from the world”, as something in their hearts, the Watchtower instead has legislated it as a law.  If one breaks this law, they are threatened with being disfellowshipped.  The thin line is whether the person is being obedient because they love God OR if they are merely being obedient because they will be kicked out of God’s Kingdom, so to speak if they want to celebrate their birthday.

RM: Now that you’re a Christian what’s the difference between then being a JW and now?
 
CH: It’s a world of difference!  I understand who God is and I understand and love Him and the Son, Jesus Christ.  I am so grateful that I am saved by grace, and not of my own doing or any works I could do.  It’s so simple, Jesus loves me for who I am and accepts for who I am.  I am changed by the power of the Holy Spirit in my life!

RM: What advice can you give to young people who are thinking about the married life? Is their a good time to be married? Does that depend on being young or old? Looking back what are the lessons you learned and you can impart to young people reading this?
 
CH: Today I would say that every young person needs to invest in their own education and finish college before they attempting to get married.  Even more importantly every young person also needs to have a strong walk with Jesus Christ because it is only through maturity, and through God that your marriage will be successful.

In closing there are Jehovah’s Witnesses who might be reading this. What can you say to them?They might consider this as an anti-JW, judgmental and unloving article. Also some who might be trapped in the system? Is their hope for those people?
 
CH: I would say to any Jehovah’s Witness reading this article that they need to really take a look at the history of their organization.  Not the “re-written” history, (As in their book, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Proclaimers of God’s Kingdom) but to go back and find out what they were teaching in the year 1919, the pivotal year for the Watchtower organization, the year that they teach that God looked down on ALL the religions of the world, and decided that He was going to give “his belongings” to the Watchtower organization because they were teaching the truth.  So they need to examine what they were really teaching at that time.  When one examines what they were really teaching at that time, we will find that they were guilty of the worst kinds of false prophecy!
 
We can always be sure that God will listen to our prayers regarding our Jehovah’s Witness friends and family.  We should pray for them on a regular basis that God will open their eyes to the real Jesus.  I sincerely believe that God will get these trapped people out!
Cynthia Hampton is an auditor for the retirement benefits of the Department of Education in California. She has a website http://www.exjwslosangeles.org/ a website of ex-Jehovah’s Witnesses in California.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

